Yellow Lights

There’s a lot of things in this world that make me happy. Some of those things can be found in the dollar section at Target (my personal fave) while others are found in the smaller everyday parts of my life. When I think of those things (big oak trees, my sisters laughing, jumping really high on a trampoline- just to name a few) my heart does this little tightening and I seriously cannot help but take a deep breath and smile because I am so incredibly blessed with the smaller everyday parts of my life. Like seriously, think about it; how lucky are we to be able to find joy out of the world around us??

When I was little, I was taught the Story of Creation in the bible and how God created the earth and humans and plants, etc…(you know the story I’m sure). And while the story has always been something that I knew, I never really understood the immense meaning behind it ’til a few years ago. Y’all…God really like…did that! He seriously created EVERYTHING just by willing it so! When will your fave ever?!? My favorite verse in the story has to be Gen 1:14-15 “And God said, ‘Let there be lights in the vault of the sky to separate the day from the night, and let them serve as signs to mark sacred times, and days and years, and let them be lights in the vault of the sky to give light on earth’ And it was so.” Our lives are so impacted by the light that he gave us and it fills my heart (it’s doing that little tightening as I’m writing this) to know that he has given us what we need to shine on our brightest days for Him. This is part of what sparked my love for the color yellow.

In my head, yellow has always been the color of happy things. One of my favorite quotes is “I really just want to be the warm yellow light that pours over everyone I love” and that is exactly what I think of when I think of yellow. My hope is that with all of the mess that has filled our world, I could fill my blog with things that make my heart “feel yellow” and maybe bring some of that sunshine to others. So, to close I am going to list a few more things that make my heart go “!!!” and make my mind go yellow.

  1. Coming home to my family after being at school for so long and being attacked with hugs and kisses from my sisters (and my doggo!)
  2. Eating way too many .50 cent corndogs with my boyfriend on Halloween
  3. The first time jumping in the river in the summer
  4. Hearing my mom’s tough-but loving advice after a long, hard day
  5. Hearing a hundred sweaty tired kids worship God at summer camp
  6. Driving through back roads with sunlight peeking through the trees
  7. Cry-laughing in the car with your best friend because summer went by too quick
  8. Making babies smile
  9. Seeing your parents faces when you make them proud
  10. Listening to songs that make you feel a little something every time you hear ’em
  11. Laughing at life because sometimes Jesus shows you a little bit of his sense of humor

This is what makes me happy. And I hope, anyone reading this finds those little pieces of happiness too.

10 thoughts on “Yellow Lights

  1. Baylee, this was incredible. I loved every word of it. I’ve only seen glimpses of you until now, and I love the heart that I see. Thank you for taking the power within you and handing it to a confused world. I’m so intrigued by your spirit.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So many great memories of you growing up. You are beautiful inside and out. We love you more and more all the time – if that is possible! You will have a positive affect on many people. Keep up the good work – and don’t forget, you have a talent for writing – good children’s books are needed. Good way to pay off those college loans! Love ya lots, Nana & Pops

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment